Skip to main content
DistrictCampusDirectory
CAMPUS

Computer Science Education. K-12.

Computer Science Initiative

Below are exerpts from the Computer Science Plan. To view the plan in it’s entirity click the link on the left side-menu. 

A Computer Science Vision for Morgan County

It is the mission of Morgan County School District to create a positive learning environment built on mutual respect and kindness that assists students as they cultivate talents, prepare for meaningful work, advance toward post-secondary education, become responsible citizens, and thrive as life-long learners. We strive to provide meaningful education that will prepare students to enterthe workforce.

Computer Science education offers a unique way to fulfill multiple aspects of our mission by providing a space for students to explore the subject and develop a depth of knowledge that would allow them to pursue a post-secondary degree and ultimately a career in CS.

Curriculum Pathway

Morgan County School District will use a multitude of curriculum providers including Code.org, TechSmart, Skill Struck, FuelCS and CSINSF.org to introduce coding as early as kindergarten, and continue with a pathway of courses culminating in students earning industry recognized certifications and participating in work-based learning opportunities. The following is a summary of our curriculum pathway broken out by each grade level:

Elementary

  • Kindergarten - Code.org Course A & Skill Struck. 12 lessons taught by classroom teachers.
  • 1st Grade – Code.org Course B. 12 lessons taught by classroom teachers. 
  • 2nd Grade – Code.org Course C. 18 lessons taught by classroom teachers. 
  • 3rd Grade – Code.org Course D. 18 lessons taught by classroom teachers. Dedicated block coding instruction weekly using TechSmart. 
  • 4th Grade – Code.org Course E. 18 lessons taught by classroom teachers. Dedicated block coding instruction weekly using TechSmart. FuelCS. 

Middle School

Beginning in SY20-21, at out (2) middle schools all students will receive the following:

  • 5th Grade – Code.org Course F. 18 lessons taught by classroom teachers. Dedicated block coding instruction weekly using TechSmart. Fuel CS. 
  • 6th Grade – Coding instruction embedded 1x/week at 45 min in our Keyboarding class. TechSmart CS100, FuelCS. 
  • 7th Grade – All students receive 20 minutes a week of coding instruction embedded in our College & Career Awareness course. TechSmart CS101.
  • 8th Grade – All students receive 20 minutes a week of coding instruction embedded in our Digital Literacy course. TechSmart CS101. 

High School

At our high school, we will offer the following CTE elective courses for students in grades 9-12:

  • SY21-22
    • Exploring Computer Science,
    • Computer Science Priniples, 
    • Computer Programming 1,
    • Computer Programming 2,
    • Object Oriented Programming,
    • Game Development, and 
    • Web Development 1
  • SY22-23 – Web Development 2
  • SY23-24 – Web Development Capstone

Computer Science Leadership

Title

Name

Email

Computer Science Lead

Jennifer Samples

jennifer.samples@morgansd.org

Superintendent/Director

Doug Jacobs

djacobs@morgansd.org

CTE Director

Robert Kilmer

rkilmer@morgansd.org 

Curriculum Director

N/A

 

Technology Director

Terry Allen

tallen@morgansd.org

Business Administrator

Scott McMillan

smcmillan@morgansd.org

High School Teacher Leader

Matt Stokes

matt.stokes@morgansd.org

Middle School Teacher Leader

Adam Christensen

achristensen@morgansd.org

Middle School Teacher Leader

Jonathan Cox

jonathan.cox@morgansd.org

Elementary School Teacher Leader

Rachel Love

rlove@morgansd.org

Elementary School Teacher Leader

Maria Hansen

maria.hansen@morgansd.org

Elementary School Teacher Leader

Tara Hammer

thammer@morgansd.org 

School Board Member

Ron Blunck

rblunck@morgansd.org

Comprehensive Guidance  Counselor

KyLee Rock

kylee.rock@morgansd.org

Community Council Representative

   

Higher Education Partner: 

Weber State University - (Network Management Technology Instructor at the School of Computing)

A.J. Hepler

ajhepler@weber.edu

Industry Partner: Silicon Slopes

John Bowers

john@siliconslopes.com

CS Plan

First Day of School

This Event Has Ended
Feedback Form

Computer Science Education. K-12.

This Week's Events